RSS

Buffalo Chicken Zucchini Boats

06 Jun

Image

My husband (Justin) and I decided it was about time we start a blog to keep track of all the new recipes we try. We love to experiment in the kitchen, and figured this would be the best way for us to not only remember the things we cooked, but share them with our family as well. I know it will be only our family and ourselves reading this, and I am okay with that! 🙂

Right now, we (Justin more than me) are really into the whole no carbs low calorie deal. So we have been racking our brains trying to make some of our favorite meals minus the carbs, and who doesn’t love shredded buffalo chicken. I mean really. Everybody loves buffalo chicken. It’s a favorite around here. Usually we make it with fried tortillas and lots and lots of cheese. It was my genius husbands idea to put them in a zucchini boat. Zucchini is so versatile and super cheap right now. 

What you need

  • 2 cups of cooked shredded chicken
  • Hot sauce of your choice
  • 2 zucchini 
  • Various vegetables of your choice (I use carrots, celery, onions, and bell peppers)
  • Cheese of your choice (I use fiesta blend usually)
  • Butter (optional)

For the Buffalo Sauce

Image

This is where the extra vegetables come in. Usually I just use whatever we have laying around the house, and this can definitely be changed or omitted to your family’s personal tastes. I like to use the bell pepper and the carrots because they give the sauce just a little bit of extra sweet flavor. 

Chop the veggies up as fine as you can get them. I like to use the food processor and practically puree them. I wish I had taken a picture of this, but I didn’t. Sorry. It looks really disgusting, but trust me, it adds the perfect flavor, not to mention makes it much more healthy. It’s a great way to sneak veggies into a meal. Add the chopped/pureed veggies to a cup or so of hot sauce in a sauce pan. I would normally add some butter to this too to make it a little less spicy, but again, since we are trying to lower the calories, I left it out this time. It was a tad more spicy than usual, but nothing unbearable. 

Add the shredded chicken to the sauce pan, stir it up really well, and heat it up. 

Image

For the Zucchini Boats

Image

This was my first attempt at zucchini boats, and I was seriously worried about it. I kept reading different stuffed zucchini recipes, and was really concerned that it was going to be one of those “way harder than it looks” type of things. But no worries it was SUPER easy. 

Cut the zucchini in half lengthwise. Don’t worry if it’s not perfectly even. Mine wasn’t and it turned out just fine. Next take a spoon and just scoop out the insides of the zucchini. 

Image

You can save the insides if you want. I threw mine in the food processor along with the other vegetables to add to the hot sauce. I couldn’t taste a difference one way or the other. 

Image

This is what the insides looked like. Tasty, I know!

Now bake the plain zucchini in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes or so. This is just to soften them up a little bit before adding the chicken. I think it keeps the chicken from drying out too much in the oven.  

The last step is to spoon the chicken into your empty boats. Sprinkle some cheese on top and bake them for another 30-35 minutes. I found, after making it two nights in a row, that adding a little extra sauce into the zucchini boats, and covering the pan with aluminum foil gives you juicier better tasting chicken. 

This was so good on zucchini, and I really didn’t miss the tortillas one bit! We are so excited for a nice low calorie success!

This was about 300 calories for one whole zucchini’s worth (two halves). And that was plenty to eat, even with my crazy big appetite!

Enjoy. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 6, 2012 in Chicken

 

One response to “Buffalo Chicken Zucchini Boats

  1. kellyborger

    June 7, 2012 at 1:49 am

    Maybe you’ll be like my friend who started a small blog for friends now she gets income from it.

    We are going to make the chicken one day this week. But we are going to probably use tortillas.

     

Leave a Reply

 
