RSS

Cheddar and Spinach stuffed Chicken Breast

24 Jun

Image

I love coming up with different ways to cook chicken. It’s cheap and it’s low in calories. I have all kinds of different cuts of chicken in the fridge right now because Justin bought a whole chicken and cut it into pieces. (I will blog about how to do that later. It is a definite money saver, as long as you can get past the whole dealing with raw chicken thing). 

Anyway, I’ve seen a couple recipes for stuffed chicken breast floating around lately and was inspired. I stuffed these with low fat cheddar cheese, spinach, and some spices and coated it with some panko seasoned bread crumbs. It turned out super juicy, full of flavor, and fairly low on the calorie end (383 calories for a large chicken breast). 

This was easy and quick to prepare too. Pound the chicken, stuff the chicken, roll the chicken, bake the chicken, and eat the chicken! Easy as that. 

Image

It was so easy that I even had time to snap a few pictures of my adorable two year old while preparing it. 

Image

No, he didn’t eat this with us. That’s his dinner, a pop tart, on his face. Great parenting. I know!

That’s besides the point, Back to the chicken…

What you need:

  • 2 Chicken breasts
  • 1/2 – 1 cup spinach (I used frozen, thawed)
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese
  • Season salt, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper.
  • 1/3 cup of seasoned bread crumbs
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. 
Lay the chicken flat between a folded piece of saran wrap. Pound it with a meat mallet (a cup works fine if you don’t have one). Pound it until your meat is about 1/4 inch thick. 
 
Image
 
Combine the spinach, cheese, and seasonings together. 
 
Spray a baking dish with cooking spray, and place your chicken in it. Spread half the spinach/cheese mixture about 3/4 way across your chicken. Do the same on the other chicken breast.
 
Image
 
 
Start at the covered end of the chicken, and roll it up. I read in a few recipes that people use tooth picks to hold their’s together, but I didn’t do it, and mine held together fine. 
 
Coat the chicken with the bread crumbs. Even though the bread crumbs were seasoned, it still tastes a little bland to me, so I added a little bit of the same spices I put in the cheese mixture. 
 
Bake the chicken at 350 for 45 minutes. 
 
This chicken must have tasted good to Justin, because he ALMOST always puts hot sauce on any chicken I cook, and he didn’t today. I would call that a success! 
 
 
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 24, 2012 in Chicken

 

Leave a Reply

 
