RSS

Tomato and Pesto Chicken Veggie Bake

09 Jul

Image

It has been a LONG time since I have blogged anything. We have been on vacation and eating terrible. Now we’re back at home, a couple pounds heavier, and back to our own kitchen. It sucks, I know, but that’s life.

Tonight’s dinner started with the idea of making baked pesto chicken and expanded from there. I couldn’t decide what I wanted to make to go along with the chicken, so I tried to think of some vegetables that would go good with pesto. I originally planned to add zucchini to this too, but once I was making everything, I chickened out. I thought it might taste a little odd, so I opted to keep it out. Luckily, that means I have some extra zucchini laying around. I guess have to think of something fun to do with that.

I didn’t take any pictures while making this today. It was pretty quick and easy though. No lengthy descriptions needed.

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup of pesto sauce
  • Can of diced tomatoes
  • 2 medium red bell peppers
  • 1 cup of mushrooms
  • 1-2 lbs of chicken breast
  • Salt, pepper, and oregano to taste

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
Cut the chicken into 1-2 inch pieces.
Chop the bell pepper and mushrooms.
Combine all the ingredients (pesto, canned tomatoes, mushrooms, bell pepper, chicken, salt, pepper, and oregano) in a baking dish and mix thoroughly.
Cover and cook for 50 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked and the veggies are tender.
Image
I was afraid of this being dry, but it definitely was not. We will most likely be making this again soon, because we really enjoyed it.
Also, I am sure this would be really tasty if you added mozzarella or parmesan cheese to it, but I didn’t because I was trying to keep the calories down. Next time though…. Maybe
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 9, 2012 in Casseroles, Chicken

 

Leave a Reply

 
