RSS
Link
10 Jul

Image

Apparently the other day, Justin and I were both craving Italian. I sent him to the store to get dinner. I was thinking that I wanted spaghetti or lasagna, or something like that, but left him in charge. He came home with tomato sauce, squash, zucchini, and ground turkey (to make meatballs). I guess we were on the same page. (Already, and we have only been married 3 years!)

Anyways, I made meatballs, and they didn’t turn out very good. They were a little bit dry and bland. Since we had enough ingredients to do everything for a second night, I figured I would try again. Round two was so much better than round one.

I don’t really know that these are that different than any other meatball recipe you can find out there, but here it is anyway.

What you need:

  • 1 lb of ground turkey
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup of seasoned bread crumbs
  • A splash of tomato sauce
  • Oregano, basil, fennel, and parsly to taste
  • 1-2 tablespoons of minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup chopped onions

Preheat your oven to 375
Combine all ingredients and mix.
Image
As far as the seasonings go, I put A LOT. More than you would think appropriate. And the tomato sauce helped with the dryness from the previous night. I would have also loved to add some red wine (cooking or regular), but for some reason I didn’t have any. Next time, I guess.
Shape your mixture into meatballs (not too big, or they will take forever to cook).
Image
Cook for 25 minutes
Mine looked like this when they came out
Image
All that parmesan cheese was oozing out of them. SO yummy!
I served this with our veggie meaty marinara, just replaced the ground beef with meatballs instead. It was a fun different spin on something we already know and love.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2012 in Turkey

 

Leave a Reply

 
