RSS

No Bake Strawberries and Cream Bar (topped with chocolate)

25 Jul

Image

 

This is a pretty unusual thing for me to make. I don’t do a lot of desserts. The hubby doesn’t eat many, therefore leaving me to consume an entire cake, or batch of brownies, or some other ridiculously large amount of dessert. I also have learned over the years, that baking is not really my thing. I guess that’s where this idea came in, since you don’t have to bake it. Originally I planned to do a layer of chocolate, but that didn’t turn out because I didn’t grease the dish, and it stuck to the bottom pretty bad. (See, desserts are NOT my thing.) Anyways, I had to improvise. Lucky for me, we had some Hershey bars laying around.

(Have I mentioned my husband works for The Hershey Company? We are all about some Hershey products in our house.)

The chocolate on top turned out pretty tasty, although it probably would have been better if I had some chocolate chips. I could have mixed them right in with the strawberries and cream layer, or sprinkled them right on top. Lesson learned.

What you need:

  • 1/2 lb fresh strawberries, pureed
  • 4 oz softened cream cheese
  • Tub of cool whip
  • Sugar (optional for sweetening strawberries)
  • Crumbled chocolate bare/chocolate chips

Puree the strawberries using a blender or food processor. You may want to add some sugar to them, depending on how sweet the strawberries are. I added about 1/4 cup probably. I didn’t exactly measure, just poured and tasted until it tasted right to me. 

Combine the puree, cream cheese, and about half the tub of whipped cream. Using an electric mixer, mix thoroughly. I did a lot of taste testing here too. I added and mixed ingredients until it tasted good to me, not overly sweet since I intended to add chocolate to it. 

Spread the strawberry cream mixture into a dish that will fit in your freezer. 

Spread a layer of cool whip on top of the strawberry cream layer. 

Let it freeze for a couple hours. Once it’s frozen/hardened, top with chocolate of your choice and enjoy.

And yes, I will most likely be eating this entire dessert by myself. Sad, I know. Justin has no idea what he is missing out on. 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
